Skip navigation

I sure was! Chiara’s acting with a ball exercise was really fun to do, although admittedly I didn’t follow her advice to a tee, that’s not to say her advice is invalid, as it is great advice! I’m referring to the blocking phase, generally I do follow something similar to her blocking phase – it assists in defining the structure and foundation for your animation, but lately I’ve been enjoying more of a straight ahead free flowing method – I just love the spontaneity of it. Here’s the result:

My approach to the exercise was as follows, beach ball bouncing along, then the thought; “what if it got jumped scared?” entered my head. I figured the bowling ball would be most appropriate being a heavy ball, by happenstance the holes on the bowling ball served well to act like creepy eyes, so I played on that creepiness aspect. The ideas kept flowing from there on.

The whole process felt very organic and appeared to work well, even though unstructured. I’m not actually used to this way of working, but lately it feels fun and in a way, liberating.

Ball Rig 7 has been great too, even managed to use the procedural motions with the bowling ball (albeit only a little). Probably one of the better ball rigs (free) out there.

Ball Rig 7 created by Yolanda Afán Asencio

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.